Assignment 1 – Invisible People Rework

My tutor felt that a number of my compositions for assignment 1 (here) were weak and suggested that I considered reworking some of them. As he pointed out, composition is subjective but I agree that some of the compositions were neither close enough nor far enough away to engage the viewer. The reworked images are:

  • Milford House: I have revisited the location and must admit to have struggled to find any better angles on this large building in, what is, a narrow street. I have settled on a shot that was taken on the first visit which speaks to the mixed ethnicity of the residents.
  • Winchester Station: This was probably the only image that I was surprised to have been mentioned by my tutor. However, I am now using a wider crop of the same photo as it is another location that offers limited options.
  • North Street: This always one of the weakest images in the set and I have returned to the location and photographed the building in a much wide context. This is a far better photograph.
  • Sussex Street: My original choice was poor. When I first visited Sussex Street a scooter club happened to pass as I was setting up my shot and, misguidedly I chose an image that included some of the riders. This might have been interesting in other circumstances but, in the context of this project, was no more than a distraction.
  • Vaughan House: Another weak image in the original set and another location that is incredibly hard to photograph. Large buildings in narrow streets are challenging but I have now chosen a much wider angle and used a more appropriate lens to capture the photograph.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Final Presentation

My tutor also asked that I considered how to present this project as a final paper based submission. The following is my preferred approach, the width being equivalent to A3.

Grzegorz Kurowski

Grzegorz Kurowski

Stuart Horsman

Stuart Horsman

Dominic Kelly

Dominic Kelly

Jan Sobolewski

Jan Sobolewski

Valerie Tallett

Valerie Tallett

Andrew Brown

Andrew Brown

Reece Hayor

Reece Hayor

Sally Stevens

Sally Stevens

David Lucid

David Lucid

Lea Williams

Lea Williams

Ben Blyth

Ben Blyth

This entry was posted in Assignment 1 - Two Sides of The Story, Research and Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

